1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

End of the year new releases

4th quarter 2012 classic rock


Some of the biggest names on the classic rock A-list will be appearing on the covers of new releases during the fourth quarter of 2012. Here's a look at highlights of what's coming up from The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, Heart, KISS, Neil Young, and more.

The Rolling Stones - 'Grrr!'

The Rolling Stones 'Grrr!'
ABKCO / Universal

Coming November 13: GRRR! -- The Rolling Stones 50th anniversary 50-track box set. The various iterations will include a three-CD version with booklet, three-CD deluxe version with hardback book and five post cards, four-CD (80 tracks) super deluxe edition with 7" vinyl, hardback book, poster and post cards, a five-LP 12" vinyl edition, and digital download.

The set will include the band's first single, a cover of Chuck Berry's "Come On" (released June 1963) and two new songs, recorded recently in Paris, per Mick Jagger. The band scheduled a handful of dates in London and New York City in November and December.

Led Zeppelin - 'Celebration Day'

Led Zeppelin - 'Celebration Day'

First in theaters worldwide (October 17) then on CD and audio formats (November 19) Celebration Day is Led Zeppelin's 2007 reunion at London's O2 Arena. Original members Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones were joined by Jason (son of the late John) Bonham in a performance for 18,000 of the 20-million people who tried to get tickets for the show.

Watch the trailer

Celebration Day Track List

1. "Good Times, Bad Times"
2. "Ramble On"
3. "Black Dog"
4. "In My Time Of Dying"
5. "For Your Life"
6. "Trampled Underfoot"
7. "Nobody’s Fault But Mine"
8. "No Quarter"
9. "Since I’ve Been Lovin’ You"
10. "Dazed And Confused"
11. "Stairway To Heaven"
12. "The Song Remains the Same"
13. "Misty Mountain Hop"
14. "Kashmir"
15. "Whole Lotta Love"
16. "Rock And Roll"

Aerosmith - 'Music From Another Dimension'

Aerosmith - 'Music From Another Dimension'

For a while back in 2010 it almost looked like Steven Tyler had retreated to another dimension, and there were questions not only about the fate of the album Aerosmith had already been working on for several years, but about whether Tyler was going to be replaced.

Music From Another Dimension (release date 11/6) is Aerosmith's on-again, off-again (and again and again and again for about six years) 15th studio album. You have to go back to 2004 (Honkin' on Bobo) to find the last one.

Guitarist Joe Perry promises a return to a sound reminiscent of their '70s salad days. Guest vocalists include Carrie Underwood and Johnny Depp.

Music From Another Dimension Track List

1. "LUV XXX"
2. "Oh Yeah"
3. "Beautiful"
4. "Tell Me"
5. "Out Go The Lights"
6. "Legendary Child"
7. "What Could Have Been Love"
8. "Street Jesus"
9. "Can't Stop Loving You"
10. "Lover Alot"
11. "We All Fall Down"
12. "Freedom Fighter"
13. "Closer"
14. "Something"
15. "Another Last Goodbye"

Heart - 'Fanatic'

Heart - Fanatic
Legacy Recordings

After tasting chart success yet again with Red Velvet Car in 2010, Heart have their 14th studio release, Fanatic ready to go on October 2. This will cap off a year that also included a summer tour, a new box set (Strange Euphoria) in June and a new book, Kicking and Dreaming: A Story of Heart, Soul and Rock and Roll in September.

Nancy Wilson sums up this year in Heart: "When you're pushing sixty you know what you want and you go for it. You're not going to test it out for five or ten years, you're going to get in the car and drive."

Fanatic Track List

1. "Fanatic"
2. "Dear Old America"
3. "Walkin' Good" (featuring Sarah McLachlan)
4. "Skin And Bones"
5. "A Million Miles"
6. "Pennsylvania"
7. "Mashallah"
8. "Rock Deep (Vancouver)"
9. "59 Crunch"
10. "Corduroy Road"

KISS - 'Monster'

KISS - 'Monster'

The 20th KISS studio album, Monster drops October 9. Paul Stanley (vocals/guitar) produced the album (as he did 2009's Sonic Boom.) Gene Simmons (vocals/bass) says, "The best thing we did was to turn inwards to ourselves," referring to the degree of collaboration among members (co-founders Stanley and Simmons, and long-timers guitarist Tommy Thayer and drummer Eric Singer) on the material for the album.

Monster Track List

1. "Hell Or Hallelujah"
2. "Wall Of Sound"
3. "Freak"
4. "Back To The Stone Age"
5. "Shout Mercy"
6. "Long Way Down"
7. "Eat Your Heart Out"
8. "The Devil Is Me"
9. "Outta This World"
10. "All For The Love Of Rock & Roll"
11. "Take Me Down Below"
12. "Last Chance"

Neil Young & Crazy Horse - 'Psychedelic Pill'

Neil Young & Crazy Horse - 'Psychedelic Pill'
Reprise Records

Psychedelic Pill will be this year's second release (Americana was the first) from Neil Young and Crazy Horse. The October 30 release is "us jamming and having lots of fun," according to CH guitarist Poncho Sampedro in a recent Rolling Stone interview. Key word there is "lots": just nine tracks, but three of them clock in at more than 16-minutes each, including the lead track, "Driftin' Back" which runs very close to a half hour (27:36) on its own. Accordingly, Psychedelic Pill will be available in a two-CD and three-LP packages.

Psychedelic Pill CD Track List

Disc 1

1. "Driftin Back"
2. "Psychedelic Pill"
3. "Ramada Inn"
4. "Born In Ontario"

Disc 2

1. "Twisted Road"
2. "She's Always Dancing"
3. "For The Love Of Man"
4. "Walk Like A Giant"
5. "Psychedelic Pill" (Bonus Track Alternate Mix)

Black Country Communion - 'Afterglow'

Black Country Communion - 'Afterglow'
J&R Adventures

Afterglow, Black Country Communion's third studio album (release date 10/30) may very well be their last. Bassist/vocalist Glenn Hughes said in a recent interview, "I hate to break it to you, but it just may be, because I need to be in a band that tours on a regular basis." That's something that is "not gonna happen" according to Hughes.

Hughes (ex-Deep Purple,) guitarist Joe Bonamassa, keyboardist Derek Sherinian (ex-Dream Theater) and drummer Jason Bonham (Led Zeppelin Experience) have all continued to record and perform solo and with other artists since BCC formed in 2009.

Afterglow Track List

1. "Big Train"
2. "This Is Your Time"
3. "Midnight Sun"
4. "Confessor"
5. "Cry Freedom"
6. "Afterglow"
7. "Dandelion"
8. "The Circle"
9. "Common Man"
10. "The Giver"
11. "Crawl"

Donald Fagen - 'Sunken Condos'

Donald Fagen - 'Sunken Condos'

Since the 1980s, Donald Fagen has established a pattern of releasing one solo album per decade: The Nightfly - 1982, Kamakiriad - 1993, Morph the Cat - 2006. The '10s are here now, and so is the Steely Dan co-founder's next solo album, Sunken Condos, to be released October 16.

The first three albums were part of a trilogy, but Fagen is going in a different direction with his latest solo release. He told Cleveland's The Plain Dealer that the Nightfly trilogy "was something I was sort of compelled to do, and I think I took that as far as it could go. This will be something lighter, just a one-off."

Sunken Condos Track LIst

1. "Slinky Thing"
2. "I'm Not the Same Without You"
3. "Memorabilia"
4. "Weather in My Head"
5. "The New Breed"
6. "Out of the Ghetto"
7. "Miss Marlene"
8. "Good Stuff"
9. "Planet D'Rhonda"

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Classic Rock
  4. Reviews & Recommendations
  5. New & Recent Releases
  6. Upcoming new releases fall 2012

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.