1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

What's new in March

Top new releases from classic rock artists


In March, we get new studio albums from David Bowie and Eric Clapton, some previously unreleased versions of old songs by Jimi Hendrix, and box sets full of Stephen Stills, Eagles, and Duane Allman. Pretty good time to be a classic rock fan, wouldn't you say?

Jimi Hendrix - 'People, Hell and Angels'

Jimi Hendrix - People, Hell & Angels
Legacy Recordings

First of all, let's all get on the same page as to what the new Jimi Hendrix release, People, Hell and Angels is, and what it isn't. As the advance publicity trumpets, what we have are a dozen "previously unreleased studio recordings" of Hendrix. However, as you may have already noticed if you looked ahead to the track list, these are by no means new songs. But they are, in most cases, treatments of these songs that are so different from the versions that were released, it really does seem that you're hearing something new. The CD comes packaged with a 24-page booklet of photos and back stories about the songs and the recording sessions.

People, Hell & Angels CD Track List
1. Earth Blues
2. Somewhere
3. Hear My Train A Comin'
4. Bleeding Heart
5. Let Me Move You
6. Izabella
7. Easy Blues
8. Crash Landing
9. Inside Out
10. Hey Gypsy Boy
11. Mojo Man
12. Villanova Junction Blues

Release date March 5, 2013 - Legacy Recordings
Available on CD, LP, MP3

David Bowie - 'The Next Day'

David Bowie - The Next Day

David Bowie's new release, The Next Day was shrouded in secrecy, so it came as something of a surprise when it wasn't announced until after it had been recorded. It has been ten years since Bowie's last album, Reality. For the past two of those years, it turns out, Bowie and his longtime producer, Tony Visconti, have been working on this album in secret sessions. Visconti told 3 News News Zealand that a total of 29 songs were recorded, and suggested we might expect an additional album in the not too distant future. Two singles/music videos -- "Where Are We Now?" and "The Stars (Are Out Tonight)" -- have already been released.

The Next Day CD Track List
1. "The Next Day"
2. "Dirty Boys"
3. "The Stars (Are Out Tonight)"
4. "Love Is Lost"
5. "Where Are We Now?"
6. "Valentine's Day"
7. "If You Can See Me"
8. "I'd Rather Be High"
9. "Boss Of Me"
10. "Dancing Out In Space"
11. "How Does The Grass Grow?"
12. "(You Will) Set The World On Fire"
13. "You Feel So Lonely You Could Die"
14. "Heat"
15. "So She" (Bonus Track)
16. "Plan" (Bonus Track)
17. "I'll Take You There" (Bonus Track)

Release date: March 12, 2013 - Columbia
Available on CD, LP (3/26)

Eric Clapton - 'Old Sock'

Eric Clapton - Old Sock
Bushbranch / Surfdog

Two of the songs on Eric Clapton's new album, Old Sock are new, the rest are covers of songs that have special meaning for the artist. It's an eclectic mixture, with the music of Leadbelly alongside that of George Gershwin, Hank Snow in company with Taj Mahal. Guest collaborators include Steve Winwood, Paul McCartney, J.J. Cale, and Chaka Khan.

Old Sock CD Track List
1. "Further On Down The Road"
2. "Angel"
3. "The Folks Who Live On The Hill"
4. "Gotta Get Over"
5. "Till Your Well Runs Dry"
6. "All Of Me"
7. "Born To Lose"
8. "Still Got The Blues"
9. "Goodnight Irene"
10. "Your One and Only Man"
11. "Every Little Thing
12. "Our Love Is Here To Stay

Release date March 12, 2013 - Bushbranch Records / Surfdog Records
Available on CD, LP

'Skydog: The Duane Allman Retrospective'

Skydog: The Duane Allman Retroscpective
Rounder Records

Only Jimi Hendrix ranks higher on Rolling Stone's list of the the top 100 rock guitarists than the late Duane Allman. Skydog: The Duane Allman Retrospective lives up to its title by being truly a career retrospective. As you would expect, there are many examples from his Allman Brothers Band work, but it goes well beyond that to include recordings from his days with Hour Glass, The Escorts, and Allman Joys. There are also samples of his session work with artists like Boz Skaggs, Delaney & Bonnie, and Aretha Franklin. This is a limited edition, with only 10,000 copies being issued.

Release date March 19, 2013 - Rounder Records
Available in a 7-CD limited edition box set

Eagles - 'The Studio Albums 1972-1979'

Eagles - The Studio Albums 1972-1979
Elektra / Asylum

Eagles recorded six studio albums during their peak years. All six -- Eagles, Desperado, On The Border, One Of These Nights, Hotel California, The Long Run -- are being reissued in the 6-CD box set, The Studio Albums 1972-1979. The set is being released in conjunction with a two-part Eagles history that aired in January on Showtime (watch the trailer) which is also expected to be released on DVD soon.

Release date March 19, 2013 - Elektra Records / Asylum Records
Available in a 6-CD box set

Stephen Stills - 'Carry On'

Stephen Stills - Carry On
Rhino Records

The beginnings of Stephen Stills' career can be traced back more than 50 years. There was a stint with the New York City club band, Au Go Go Singers. Then Stills and another member of that group, Richie Furay, left to join in the formation of Buffalo Springfield. And then there was Crosby Stills Nash and Young, and a solo career. Stills' deep and varied catalog is documented in the 4-CD Carry On box set, along with a few bonus gems, like a previously unreleased jam session with Stills' pal, Jimi Hendrix.

Release date March 26, 2013 - Rhino Records
Available in a 4-CD box set

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Classic Rock
  4. Reviews & Recommendations
  5. New & Recent Releases
  6. New releases and reissues from classic rock artists in March 2013

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.